Work in Progress

So I didn’t write a post yesterday. Total fail, right? Wrong.

I’m not perfect, and I don’t want to be. Sure, now I can’t say I posted every day in November. So what? Today makes three out of four, and that’s pretty damn good, all things considered. And I’m starting over. In more ways than one, I am trying to eliminate “fail” (and derivatives like “failure”) from my vocabulary. My problem with them is I over apply. If I fail to meet my goal of posting every day in November, then I am a failure. That’s simply not true. I am so much more than that.

Yesterday was a rough day. Full day of work, workshops after work, and the death of a beloved family dog. I’m allowed to give myself a pass on something like a blog post. It’s not against the rules. Mind you, I have to work at it to really believe myself when I say that. I’m so used to my all or nothing mentality that accepting that less than all is still success is very challenging. But it’s a challenge I want to take on, because who the hell ever achieves every single thing they set out to do? Certainly not me. And if I can learn to accept success on a smaller scale than perfection, I can learn to be happier, because I won’t have to think of myself as a failure. I like this plan.

Tell me, what have you succeeded at lately?

3 thoughts on “Work in Progress

Add yours

    1. That’s great! And just being published is a success. That’s what I’m saying. Sure, you’re waiting to see if they sell well, but not everyone who aims to even gets published. So congratulations to you!

      1. Aww, thank you. I’m not fixated on the sales, as I wrote because I just needed to get some things out of my system. If they sell…that’s a bonus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

